Home

During this art project I created two ceramic pieces: a vessel and a sculptural piece. As I looked through various cultures ceramic pieces I decided to make a large unique pot and two hands forming a gesture meaning ‘namaste’.

My vessel really expresses my style and how I think of art. I relate this piece to how I connect myself to nature. I wanted to create a pot with an interesting shape that feels really natural. I kept the rough texture of the coiled clay to add to its natural feel, along with the braided top three layers to add a more decorative, yet still earthy feel. I went with a simple wood polish finish and sprayed it with gloss to help it stand out and complete.

My sculpture piece expresses my style as well, and it has a strong connection with me. I made two clay hands with forearms that pose in a gesture meaning Namaste. Namaste is a word that means ‘the light with in me honors the light within you‘. I have become familiar with this word and its meaning through my obbsession of hot yoga that I do about six times a week. I struggled at first with coming up with a way to create this piece to make it seem rather realistic, but, through trial and error, I found that modeling the clay hands and arms first then adding and subtracting from them came easiest to me.

After looking at both pieces side by side and complete it seems that the two actually fit pretty well together, which is interesting to me because of how it was not intentional. I think that being said makes my projects more personal. I had never worked with clay before and had a lot of fun creating art with it!

“I honor the place in you where the entire Universe resides, I honor the place of love, of light, of truth, of peace. I honor the place within you where if you are in that place in you and I am in the place in me, there is only one of us”

-Ram Dass

Pieces before being fired and painted below

 

 

One thought on “Ceramic Art Project

Leave a Reply

